jump to navigation

Sasquatch: The Legend of Big Foot February 3, 2010

Posted by regan222 in Movie Madness.
trackback
A classic film from the golden age of big foot movies (the early 70’s).  I saw this film at the Lea Theater in Lovington, NM with my mother, sister, and cousin and can remember it to this day.  I particularly remember the story told around the camp fire of the group of miners who were ambushed at Ape Canyon, on the slopes of Mt. St. Helens.  Oddly enough, that canyon no longer exists.  It is possible that the Sasquatch (or would that be Sasquatches…Sasquatchii…oh well) the entire colony was wiped out when St. Helens erupted in the 80’s and the canyon was filled in by lahars.  The story concerns a group of researchers and outdoorsmen who head off into the North West wilderness to pursue the legendary Big Foot.  The movie is done in the style of a documentary and the actors are usually able to pull off the illusion.  Occasionally it is obvious, however, that this is a scripted movie made for entertainment and not research purposes.  The film is full of beautiful cinematography though I suspect that in this part of the North-west it would be hard to find an ugly scene to film.  Comedy relief is provided by the camp cook Barney.  His antics when confronted by various wildlife throughout the film provide a much needed break to the incessent narration, the film’s only real flaw.  The party travels on through the wilderness coming closer and closer to the titular creature.  They find huge trees broken off 8 ft above the ground which, as anyone knows, is the traditional way that all Sasquatch mark their territory.  I guess they are too shy to pee on bushes.  This bit of sasquatch lore is provided by the obligatory Indian guide.  Finally the intrepid band reach the heart of the Sasquatch domain.  Their campsite is decimated by a coordinated Sasquatch attack and they are forced to return to civilization empty handed.
This was one of my favorite movies as a child.  I suppose the documentary style helped me to suspend disbelief because, as I have said before, I am a sucker for lore, history, or backstory.  Give me exposition everytime (although NOT in long streams of voice-over narration).  Anyhow, it is hard to find this one since it was only released on video tape and I don’t think (although I have been wrong before) that it has ever been brought over to DVD.  THe costume special effects leave MUCH to be desired by today’s standards (I remember them as scary but now I can tell it is just a guy wrapped in fake fur) but the sound effects are still fairly eerie.  (NOT, however, as eerie as the howl used in the similarly themed "Legend of Boggy Creek".  Next time I’ll tell you about my adventures as a real monster hunter in the wilds of Arkansas.  Til then…
Comments»

1. Regan - February 3, 2010

Wonder what a comment looks like?? I don\’t suppose I will ever get one.


Leave a Reply

